NaNoWriMo Tip #3: Create a Character Outline

As I continue writing for NaNo and searching far and wide for great tips to help, I find that execution of these suggestions can take place at various times in the writing process. This next tip is something I actually do after my first draft is complete. Click on the link below to learn more about character outlines.

NaNoWriMo Tip #3: Create a Character Outline – GalleyCat.

Creating a character outline helps you get to know what your character is like and the actions they would take in the story. I prefer to write hot and let the character flow from me uninterrupted. Once I complete the first draft, I go back and sketch out my character using what developed organically. I then add nuances to create what I feel that character needs to be for the story, or even for a particular scene.

This system works for me. I don’t always see my character completely until I start writing. Do you use character outlines or sketches? At what point in the writing process do you create them?

Good luck and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

