Insecure Writer’s Support Group

insecurewriterssupportgroup

It’s hard to believe a month has gone by already and it’s time for another post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. Alex Cavanaugh has come up with this wonderful blog hop. I’ve loved exploring the blogs on the list this past month and look forward to visiting more.

This month I’d like to talk about the reasons writers should attend conferences. I attended the SCBWI Conference at Penn State Campus in Malvern this past weekend. It was awesome. Here are some reasons you may want to consider attending a writer’s conference.

  • You make connections with other writers who have similar experiences.
  • There are often published authors there giving seminars or presentations on writing and the road to publication
  • The conference I attended had a book store where you can purchase works of the author’s present and get them signed. I got a lot of my Christmas shopping done!
  • It’s a great opportunity to get away and practice your craft with input from fellow writers.
  • There are often opportunities, depending on the conference schedule of events, to connect with agents, editors, or other professionals in the writing business. The conference in Malvern was a two day conference. The first day was group seminars and professional speakers. The second day was a critique fest where we had the opportunity to meet one-on-one with an agent, an editor, and a published author. They gave us an individual critique of the first ten pages of a manuscript of our choice. This was such a valuable experience!
  • When we were finished the first day, my writing partner and I went out for a nice meal. We found a small pub that had live music for the evening. It was fun listening to music as we recapped our day.
  • Writing conferences inspire and refuel your inner writer. When you’re feeling discouraged, you can think about all the people who are in the same boat with you. Never stop writing.
    2013-11-02 15.43.172013-11-02 15.34.092013-11-02 18.19.022013-11-02 12.38.032013-11-02 19.28.012013-11-02 15.34.212013-11-02 15.33.512013-11-02 15.35.142013-11-02 15.35.072013-11-02 15.34.51

I truly enjoyed my writing conference experience. It’s not the first I attended and I’m already looking forward to my next.

Have you ever attended a writing conference? How has it helped you?

2 Comments

  1. Maribeth

    I don’t think I can ever get enough of writers conferences. They offer inspiration,insight,connections and motivation. This is a great post and awesome pics.

  2. Writing conferences are great. I always feel so energized afterward. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

