NaNoWriMo Tip: Don’t Check Your Email

We are swiftly approaching the midway point of NaNoWriMo. I must admit, my word count is in the range of pitiful. The story I chose to write for this year’s challenge was a genre I have difficulty writing. As if writing a novel in one month isn’t challenging enough! In a previous post I stated that I don’t always follow the steps of writing in the correct order. I let the story flow from me first, then go back and outline, further develop characters, and add to descriptions and dialogue where necessary. This system is not working for this piece.
I found I have to outline first for this particular project. I’m also working on developing the characters and setting before the writing process because I otherwise can’t see the story clearly this time.
So what does this mean for this year’s NaNo for me?
Chances are, I won’t reach 50,000 words by the end of November. It may not even happen by the end of December. But I will reach that goal and surpass it. I will complete this novel on my own time frame.
You may be wondering what this has to do with the tip: don’t check your email. Well, normally I’d say that’s a good tip. I often get distracted by the internet when I should be writing. I’m glad I did this time. Otherwise, I most likely wouldn’t have seen the earlier tips this website offered. It was a reminder that the process that works for one story may not be feasible for another.
So don’t be afraid to check your emails in the month of November. You never know what nuggets of wisdom or information might be waiting for you in your inbox. Just remember to devote equal or more time to your writing!
Have you ever had to change your way of thinking to complete a project?

Click on the link below to read more about this and more NaNoWriMo tips.

NaNoWriMo Tip #8: Don’t Check Your Email – GalleyCat.

Leave a Reply

