The Power of a Good Book Giveaway-“The Giving Tree”

The Power of a Good Book post series involves me listing one book each month that has had a lasting impact on me. Being a first grade teacher and someone who enjoys reading children’s literature, several of the works on my list are books in this genre. This month’s book is:

th[2]

In honor of the 50th anniversary of the book’s release, HarperCollins released an ebook version of this title earlier this month.
I enjoy a lot of Shel Silverstein’s works. I read his books of poetry to my class every year and they love it. However, there is a lot of controversy surrounding this story. You can click on the link below if you aren’t familiar with some of the differing views on the meaning behind the relationship with the boy and the tree in this story. But be aware that if you haven’t read it yet, there are some spoilers on the link.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Giving_Tree

I, for one, think that sometimes we read too deeply into things and jump to conclusions that the works of a creative person may have some underlying negative message. Yes, there are some works that are done for a particular purpose. But you, the individual experiencing a piece, and the person who created it are likely to have differing opinions on what the meaning of the work is due to our life experiences and beliefs. Books, movies, poems, and any other artistic expression lends itself to interpretation that can have multiple meanings for a variety of people. That's the great thing about all forms of art.

I see several different possible meanings hidden within the pages of "The Giving Tree". It's one of the reasons why it's included on this list. It's a great story with a message for many and it ignited a spark in my mind that made me think about life and how I treat others.

If you've read "The Giving Tree" by Shel Silverstein, what are your views on the symbolism in the story and possible meanings of this book?
If you haven't read it, is there another controversial book, movie, poem, or art piece that has had an impact on you?

I know not everyone may want a children's book added to their collection so I'm offering a choice between a copy of "The Giving Tree" by Shel Silverstien or a $15 Amazon gift card, which you can use to download the recent ebook version of this story or however you wish. Leave a response to one of the questions above along with your preference of prize for a chance to win. One commenter will be randomly chosen.

7 Comments

  1. Maribeth

    One of my Absolute favorite books. I cried at the end of the book and the emotion it stirred in me can still be felt whenever I think of the story. I have my own analogies of the message it sends. I’m going to check out the link u gave to see if my thoughts are similar or different. Great book, thanks for the giveaway.

    • It’s one of my favorites as well. It is an emotional story that touches the heart and soul.

  2. Don’t have a comment at the moment – juggling dinner – but I’m aware of the controversy. Sorry if you caught this, but in case you didn’t:

    http://aopinionatedman.com/2014/02/19/philosophy-101-with-boy-professor

    =)

    HW

    • Just checked out the post. I’m not sure how I missed it, but really enjoyed reading the comment about “The Giving Tree”. Check it out everyone if you haven’t already. It’s good stuff!

      • =) Thx for the PR.

        Happy blogging, Renee.

  3. Great choice, I see! 🙂 Best wishes, Renee!

    • Glad you like it. It’s a great story I’ve read over and over again. Best wishes to you as well.

Leave a Reply

