Things You Dread

It is a strange thing, but when you are dreading something, and would give anything to slow down time, it has a disobliging habit of speeding up.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Dread and fear are sometimes linked together. I don’t look at it this way. Dread is something I look at as not wanting to do something, not necessarily fearing it, just hating that it has to be done. There are certain events and occasions that cause this feeling of dread.

When I explore my character traits for a project, I think of every day things they might dread and events or occurrences that I dread. In self-reflecting, I realized that this, like many other emotions and reactions in my life, has changed with years and experience.

Things I dread now:
1. Monday mornings, but it actually begins with Sunday night knowing the work week is starting.
2. Speaking in front of people, which is a little ironic since I’m a teacher and do this on a daily basis. But it’s very different speaking in front of a group of adults than a herd of children.
3. Doctor and dentist visits are a big one for me. I dread going every year.
4. The holiday hustle and bustle. I actually love the holidays, I just can’t stand being so busy all the time. But the holidays have a list of dreads all their own. Below is a link of eleven things people dread most about the holidays.

http://www.11points.com/…/11_Things_People_Dread_Most_About_the_Holi…”>‎

5. Long, cold winters are a dread that has developed and grown as I get older. It’s fine for the week of Christmas when the snow falls and you have to bundle up, but the day after Christmas I wish it was spring weather again. Living in the northeast means months of snow and freezing temperatures that I dread every year.

What are some things you dread having to experience?

2 Comments

  1. Maribeth

    I dread putting clothes away. A family of six produces a lot of clothes. I also dread going back to work after having two days off.

  2. I dread every part of doing the laundry…it never ends!

Leave a Reply

