Things That Humble You

imagesCAXB1WE8

For my “H” emotion in the “A to Z Blog Challenge”, I was tempted to take the easy way out and do “happy”. There are many things in this world that make me feel happy and I’m grateful for those and try to focus on them to stay positive.

But I like to challenge myself and decided to tackle an emotion that may not be practiced too often, humility. There are many fables and stories I read to my first grade class that teach the lesson of being humble. We talk about bragging and boasting and my students, at the ages of six and seven, realize that the characters who do this always have a negative consequence in the story. But I often wonder if this lesson stays with them as they move forward in life.

I deal with people who do not practice the art of humility on a daily basis and I see how people react to them. They are often not well-liked among others because of their actions. On the other hand,I also witness humbleness and humility often from the people around me and it gives me “hope” that people like this, those that recognize others and do not only focus on their own lives and accomplishments, are out there to be role models. I’m humbled daily by the people around me, especially my own children and family, as well as the people I work with. I’ve accomplished wonderful things in my life, but try to keep it in perspective, knowing that I can always improve.

The quote form Mother Theresa below gives us some ways to practice humility in our daily lives. Her words help me reflect on my actions and remind me of the importance of humbleness.

“These are the few ways we can practice humility:
To speak as little as possible of one’s self.
To mind one’s own business.
Not to want to manage other people’s affairs.
To avoid curiosity.
To accept contradictions and correction cheerfully.
To pass over the mistakes of others.
To accept insults and injuries.
To accept being slighted, forgotten and disliked.
To be kind and gentle even under provocation.
Never to stand on one’s dignity.
To choose always the hardest.”
― Mother Teresa, The Joy in Loving: A Guide to Daily Living

What makes you feel humble or how do you practice humility in your life?

2 Comments

  1. Maribeth

    Great post. Writing definitely humbles me. In our world filled of rejections its impossible not to feel humbled.

  2. That’s true. Rejections are plentiful in the writing world. The important thing is to keep on trying.

Leave a Reply

