Things That Make You Melancholy

imagesCA6FC3NA

My recent posts for the A to Z Blog Challenge have been focused on positive emotions. I try to stay positive everyday, but there are times when those negative feelings seep into your life. It can be caused by an unpleasant event, another person’s interaction with you, or just be a mood of the day.

When I woke up today, it was dark and gloomy outside my window. Rain battered against my roof. I struggled to get out of bed. To make things worse, I knew I had to face an unpleasant task today for work. I started the day feeling melancholy.

These are the types of days I want to pull the covers over my head and stay in bed all day. These are the days I don’t feel like being around other people and don’t feel like doing anything. These are the days I have to force myself to do even the simplest daily activities.

But, these are also the days I force myself to get out of bed and do something or think of something that is enjoyable. I may allow myself to wallow in sadness for a while, but then I do everything I can to snap out of it, especially if someone like my husband or coworkers point out this mood to me. Who wants to be around the sad person all day?

What things make you feel melancholy? What do you do to try to snap out of that feeling?

4 Comments

  1. Sometimes just the weight of life can sometimes get me feeling overwhelmed at times. There is so much you need to do, and so many different areas of stress that I just want to go back to elementary. Which I clearly took advantage of when I was there. I think the key is to just force yourself to do something and not mope around just as you do.

    • Life can be overwhelming at times. We don’t appreciate how good the carefree life of childhood is until we no longer have it.

  2. Maribeth

    Thinking about how fast life is passing by and not being to able to slow it down or go back to certain times always makes me feel melancholy.

  3. It can be sad sometimes, especially when your children grow up so quickly.

Leave a Reply

