Things That Offend You

imagesCAA6IENI

I’m not easily offended. People have a right to their opinions and I find that they don’t affect me like they used to when I was younger. Some people say and do things specifically to get a reaction from you, even if it’s a negative one. I’m experiencing something right now in my life where I’m part of a group that’s not very liked at the moment and people are saying and doing things that may be construed as offensive. Others in my group are offended at their actions, but I’m not. They have a right to their opinion and as long as their comments are not made maliciously, I have no problem with them expressing their thoughts. They have the right to do this. It’s what’s so wonderful about living in our country.

If I’m offended by something in the media, I can change the channel or not read the newspaper or magazine where it’s found. There are ways to shut out the negative and focus on what you can control in your life.

One thing that still offends me is when people treat me like I’m stupid. This comes in several forms. They may try to make me like I don’t know what I’m talking about or be sneaky and try to get something by me that they shouldn’t. This bothers me and I have to refrain from negative reactions. I try to take a constructive approach when this happens to make that person aware that they can’t pull one over on me. It can be difficult, but so much more effective than lashing out, which is sometimes exactly what the other person want.
What things offend you? How do you react when you’re offended by something?

4 Comments

  1. I try to be calm and collected when I’m offended.

  2. Maribeth

    The Italian in me can get very ugly if you offend me. Having said that it takes a lot to offend me as well. I can think of a lot of things that irk or upset me but offending me is tough. If a person talks to another in front of me but it’s obvious their topic is geared towards something about me (As if I’m not smart enough to catch on) that is offensive. If I help someone with something and later they act as if I never helped them I take offense. Another thought provoking post.

    • I have to control my Italian sometimes too, but it only comes up when I’m consistently pushed too far.

Leave a Reply

