Are You Venturesome?

imagesCA7ICPI3

ven·ture·some — adjective
1.willing to take risks or embark on difficult or unusual courses of action.

Most of the time, I play it safe. Keeping my life calm and on a steady path is how I like to spend my days. Taking risks was something for my younger years. However, there’s a certain rewarding feeling that comes when you take a risk or difficult road and it pays off. The sense of accomplishment and vindication when you reach the other side is unparalleled.

Putting myself out there with my writing is a huge risk for me, as I’m sure it is for many writers. It took me a long time to even tell people that I write. And don’t even get me started on sending out that first query or attending my first writing conference. Those things still make me uncomfortable.

On the other hand, I’ve grown as a person and a writer since putting myself out there. I’ve met some great people and learned a lot about the craft and the business. If I am going to be true to myself and my goals for my writing, I’m going to have to take some risks and become a venturesome person or the wonderful possibilities will disappear and I will never move forward.

Are you a venturesome person? What holds you back from taking those risks or that difficult course of action?

1 Comment

  1. way to be venturesome and do this arduous a to z challenge! i’ve met loads of new folks, like you =) the tough part is getting out there and leaving yourself open to criticism… but if you’re prepared, it’s worth the venturing!
    happy a to z-ing!

Leave a Reply

